Skip to content

hot yoga

March 5, 2011

Hot yoga = yoga in a heated room.

 

I was attending a Bikram studio last summer/fall until it closed. I’ve been waiting (im)patiently for the new hot yoga studio to open and it finally did this week. Bikram is like a “chain” type of yoga…like Zumba. It is the same poses every time, in the same sequence, for the same amount of time, in the same temperature and humidity setting. At Hot Yoga By The Sea, the new studio, they have all different types of yoga…ashtanga, vinyasa, beginner, basics, absolute, bikram.  Their temps vary depending on the yoga class. For example, a beginner class isn’t going to be as hot and it only lasts an hour in length.  Whereas, the Vinyasa is going to be ~103 degrees and 90mins. So needless to say, there is a class for everyone at every level.

I’ve been four times since their opening on 3/1.  And boy  have I missed hot yoga.  Since it had been so long since I had practiced in a heated studio, my first time back was a little uncomfortable. I had forgotten just how hot it gets in there… I had to stop for a couple poses and relax in child’s pose. Lightheaded and short of breath?…yep! Bot not to fret, completely normal for first timers. After I left the first class I remembered exactly why I love hot yoga so much. It is such an intense workout, physically and mentally. Both aspects are so demanding and go hand in hand. To see just how much your body can sweat is just amazing. To say you get “drenched” is an understatement. I walked out of there looking like I had just jumped into a pool. Hair dripping, clothes soaked. Literally, sweat is coming from every pore on your body.  The heat makes it so you’re able to bend and mold your body into something you’d normally not be able to achieve on your own; you’re able to move deeper into the poses. There are so many benefits to doing yoga in a heated room. You’re able to increase circulation which allows for more oxygen to the muscles and organs, as well as helping to rid the body of build up and waste through the pores by sweating.  Your pulse is going to elevate, which increases higher calorie burn. You’re ridding your body of toxins, you’re metabolism is going to increase, it helps with weight loss, you’re going to develop muscle definition, strengthen your immune system, and your skin will feel amazing.

If you attempt hot yoga, it is sooo important that you take in more than enough water. Be drinking before class, during class, and after class( after class i usually dilute some gatorade with water and drink that to help replenish the nutrients that were lost through sweating). I have a 1L water bottle that I’m constantly refilling…I try to get in atleast 4L a day.

I encourage you to try hot yoga. You might hate it the first couple times, but once your body acclimates…you’ll love it.

 

It takes courage and intelligence, you know, to do the stages of Yoga right, and to start with this Hatha Yoga… It’s just you and nothing but you, standing in one spot frozen like a statue with no place to go for help or excuse or scapegoat except inward. -Bikram Choudhury

Yoga exists in the world because everything is linked. -Desikashar

I took a deep breath and listened to the old brag of my heart. I am, I am, I am. -Sylvia Plath

 

namaste.


 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 10:32 pm

    Carly, you are SUCH a great writer. Your style is so conversational and easy to read, its fun. I feel like when I read this post we were just having a chat. I love that.

    You need to post more regularly. You have good and interesting things to say!

Leave a Reply

