Skip to content

random little treasures

March 24, 2011

Don’t you just love it when you’re out an about, minding your own business, enjoying the world around you, when God gives you a subtle reminder about life, or love, or whatever it is that has meaning to you.

 

My sister and I were off gallivanting around the North Shore a few days ago. We roamed in and out of shops, stopped to snack on tasty local treats(mmm, malasadas!), got soaked by the rain one second and then dried by the warm sunshine the next. It was a great day, really. But what topped it off, for me, was a random, little treasure in a random, little tibetan shop.

look:


Yep, it’s a cheap tshirt. But the quote from the DL was what made my day and made me stop and read it over and over again–each time getting something different from it. One thought  kept leading to the next. There is so much good stuff in this quote. So much to dissect and think about.

The first line alone– “we are visitors on this planet.” This world isn’t ours. We don’t own it. We are here, just stopping by, and then moving on to the next place. Will this next place be just as beautiful? I believe yes, even more so than what we know now.

“We must try to do something good, something useful with our lives.” What am I doing in and with my life? This question lead me all over the place. I will spare the mess of a trail.

“If you contribute to other people’s happiness, you will find the true goal, the true meaning of life.” I cannot tell you how real this is to me. I love to make others happy. I want to be a positive in other’s lives. And I know i’ve accomplished this more than a couple times. In doing this i’ve found God, i’ve found me, i’ve found peace and balance.

Who would have thought that a cheap tshirt from a whole-in-the-wall Tibetan shop would have given me so much.

 

How does this quote speak to you?

 

namaste.

 

 

 

 

 


4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 11:51 pm

    if every single person just tried to be nice to others, can you imagine what a perfect world we’d live in? this quote speaks to me in that it gives a clear, direct goal that each of us should have: do more good than harm; leave this earth better for having known us. i think there’s nothing more important than to use our energy while in this life to try to increase the amount of happiness in the world.

    and i also love the first line that you carl pointed out – we are visitors. this isn’t our permanent home. so just like being a houseguest on vacation – its good to enjoy ourselves, but to also be respectful of the homeowner who so graciously let’s us stay with Him.

    like you said, so many things to pick apart and take away from this.

    i think i’m going to jot this one down and post it up somewhere in my house. its a lovely reminder of what the bottom line is: JUST BE NICE.

    thanks for posting carly, as usual you’ve given me food for though =)

  2. March 24, 2011 11:53 pm

    *carly, not carl. oops! typo!

  3. heroblues permalink
    March 27, 2011 5:02 am

    First of all, how did you do that sweet sig.? and gosh I need a serious tutorial on this worpress business!
    Secondly I love that shirt and that entire quote is dripping with truth, and that is how we should live each day trying to do the most good possible, spreading love and happiness, we should end each day with thoughts of peace. Begin each day with thoughts of peace. Love this!

    • March 27, 2011 5:03 pm

      yeah, this wordpress stuff is uber confusing. it took me a while to catch on, some things i still have no clue how to do haha. the sig– i just searched for signatures in google and chose the first link. it’s pretty simple.

Leave a Reply

