Skip to content

a list.

August 26, 2011

I really have nothing to blog about lately. Actually,  I take that back, if I wanted to I could have plenty, but honestly I don’t feel like siting sources right now. Me= lazy. So because I’m lazy I thought i’d list out some of my thoughts, my intentions, my do’s and don’t’s of my personal lifestyle. I know I’ve left things off this list that i’ve simply just forgotten about, so i’ll make sure to add to it when i remember 🙂

Nourish.

eat often. i eat six times a day usually.(B, s, L, s, D, s).

eat clean. get rid of the boxed, processed, man-made foods. eat fresh, wholesome, nature-found, nutrient-rich foods. (if it doesn’t come from the ground or doesn’t have a mother–don’t eat it).

i try to stay away from dairy. (although hidden dairy is a real challenge for me–whey and casein make it’s way into a lot of different things). i don’t think humans are meant to consume cow’s milk. i do make an exception with organic plain greek yogurt.

i also try to stay away from HFCS,artificial sweeteners, food colorings, palm oil, soy(another hard one, soy makes it’s way into way too many things these days–and corn(god, i could go on about the overproduction, use and misuse of corn and soy products).)

snack on raw fruits and veggies.  they lose a lot of nutrients once you cook them.

lean protein: chicken breast, turkey breast, lean cuts of beef(occasionally), salmon.( i tired the vegetarian thing for a little while and it’s not for me-  i found myself relying on carbs way too much for my liking!)

complex carbs are GOOD! but i try to limit my carbs somewhat– i’ll eat ’em in the morning and taper off as the day goes on.

water is my bet friend. seriously. i carry my L water botter everywhere and am constantly filling it. i pretty much use it as a cure-all. don’t feel well?…drink some water.

workout six days a week. my workouts include HIIT, rowing, zumba, lots of yoga(some more physically challenging than others), free weights, boot camp classes, hiking, and on and on and on.

i wear workout clothes everyday. it’s rare to see me in civvies. ha.

early to bed, early to rise. sleep is SOOOO important–that’s when my body repairs itself!(and we all need repairing!) i get in usually 8 hrs, no more.

ACV (apple cider vinegar) is another one of my cure-alls. seriously, go look up all the health benefits to ACV! (i actually make a pretty yummy vinaigrette dressing with ACV– ACV, EVOO and some honey!)

breathe. deep cleansing breaths. we don’t use our lungs to their full capacity, so i make sure everyday to be aware of my breath and fill my body with clean, purifying oxygen.

stretch. elongate those muscle, lengthen the spine.

nature.

appreciate the small things.

create a relaxing space- light candles, put on music, use aromatherapy, read, meditate, open the windows, lay on the beach.

be up before the sun every so often and watch it rise. it’s refreshing and peaceful and so humbling.

feel the earth. get your hands and feet a little dirty.

pick up trash and PLEASE DON’T LITTER!(really, how hard is it to hold on to your trash until you can find the appropriate waste bin?)

love.

be kind, slow to judgement and negative thoughts.

love like Jesus.

patience really is a virtue.

be you. love you.

namaste.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 30, 2011 8:02 am

    Really enjoyed this post a lot! Good list 🙂

Leave a Reply

