Skip to content

October 24, 2011

Wow, has it been a long time since I’ve made a post; I’ve been lazy. Sorry, folks.

Today we found out that Jordan’s VEERP(early out) package was approved–this means we will officially be off island no later than March 6th. This is crazy and awesome and a little scary(ok, a lot scary). We have so many changes coming our way, so many unknowns that need to be known for our own sanity, and just a lot of crap that needs to get done. After 3.5 yrs on this island I am more than ready to leave. It’s been real, it’s been nice and I consider myself blessed and lucky to have been able to spend more than just  vacation time here, but all good things must come to an end, yeah?(see…proof I’ve been here too long!)

We are moving our family of fur (get it, four? two dogs and us?) to the beautiful state of Tennessee. I am SO extremely excited about this. It’s no SoCal, but that’s ok. TN really does have way more to offer us…not to mention one of my oldest and dearest friends lives there!  We are trying to find a house on a good chunk of land. We want to be self-sufficient and live off the land as much as possible(jordan would like to go completely off the grid, but uh, i’m not down for that). I’ve been researching my little heart out about gardening, canning, preserving, homemade cleaning products, sewing(I don’t own a sewing machine, but it is on my list) and the list goes on. Let’s just say-everyone will want to escape to our little commune come the zombie apocalypse.  I cannot wait to plant my own garden, tend to it and harvest it. It really doesn’t get any better than fresh veggies right from the garden onto the dinner plate. I’ve also been in contact with a RYS(yoga school) in the Nash area and cannot wait to get that started– I was pretty crushed when my training plans were cancelled earlier this year. The adventures are endless, really. We will FINALLY be able to take a road trip, and have all four seasons! Hiking and tubing and camping, snow and crisp, cool air, lots of yardage for the dogs to run around in! Ooooh, I am just way excited! Not to mention, after we get settled…it’s baby time. That’s right. Baby Fever is in full effect.

Jobs, home, school, move plans. these all need to be confirmed in the next 3-4 months…oh boy!

namaste.

p.s. where has Portishead been my whole life? and why I am I just now discovering their music?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

