Skip to content

friends again?

December 28, 2011

…me and the scale, that is.

For the longest time I had a love/hate relationship with the scale. A lower number made me feel great, a higher number made me feel awful(’tis the story of most females lives, right?). But even at a lower number, I’d still feel “not good enough”, I guess. I didn’t necessarily want the number to be lower, I just never felt wholly at peace with it. I would see the number on there and think, “Ok, not bad!” and then hear other women my same height and age weigh atleast a good 15lbs less than me. FIFTEEN POUDS. That’s a lot. I would then look at my body and think where the heck could I lose fifteen pounds from? …and the answer, I decided, is nowhere. I don’t have 15lbs to lose. I have muscle and that is why I weigh more than most my age/height.

In the past 2-3 months I’ve really become at peace with my body and how much it weighs. I’ve learned to use the scale when necessary(and there are necessary times) and to love the number I see. I have muscle. I’m strong and healthy. I’m in better shape now than I was in high school. I have what a lot of women want. I have an athletic body and I embrace it.

so, me and the scale?..we’re buds.

Don’t let the scale weigh you down(pun intended). Use it as a fitness tool that is personal to your body.

Take care of your body and your body will take care of you.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2011 8:57 am

    THIS is what i’m having such an emotional tussle over. I know that my body looks the way it looks. I know that I have muscular legs and broad shoulders and I will always have a heavier weight than someone with a pixie-ish frame, at my height.

    What I can’t handle is that my tummy just isn’t as flat as it once was and I have love handles. Ugh!!!!!!!

    Great post though Carly, you have an awesome body. It’s good that you’re at peace with what the scale has to say on the issue.

    • December 28, 2011 11:49 am

      it’s taken me a while to get to this place. i’d be lying if i were to say it’s never, ever an issue for me…it is every once in a while, which is to be expected, but i really just don’t care about it anymore. there’s nothing wrong with wanting to fix and improve areas(hence the “eating disorder or dedication” post), but it’s got to be a personal competition with yourself. comparing and competing with others is useless. if you’re actively making changes and positive steps towards health/fitness, you’re on a great path! you look great, rose, srsly, but i do know how you feel. don’t get discouraged!

  2. December 28, 2011 8:59 am

    Fantastic post!

Leave a Reply

