Skip to content

2011, where did you go?

January 1, 2012

This year flew by!

So many events took place- some happy, some not so happy. I endured, yet again, another deployment and as always I learned something new about my relationship with Jordan, I started my journey with CPT, we lost Goshen to cancer and simultaneously celebrated twenty- five years of my life, had our last military homecoming ever(bittersweet), Jordan and I were finally able to celebrate some important holidays together and many personal battles were had and overcome.

And now it’s officially 2012! I am so looking forward to what this year is going to bring us!

With the new year comes new resolutions. I don’t want these resolutions to weigh me down; I want them to be challenging, but also motivating and encouraging. Resolutions/goals shouldn’t be about the negatives in our life, but seeking out opportunities to better ourselves. Change is good, being uncomfortable is good. I have to remind myself of this often.

“We spend January 1 walking through our lives, room by room, drawing up a list of work to be done, cracks to be patched. Maybe this year, to balance the list, we ought to walk through the rooms of our lives… not looking for flaws, but for potential.” – Ellen Goodman

My resolutions for this year are not about dissatisfaction, but potential. I know I have the potential to achieve what I set before me. There is always room for improvement- in every area of our lives, and when you stop believing that it’s a sad and dangerous day.

This year I want to do more random acts of kindness. I have a few ideas for some cute and funny ones, which I plan on posting about once I do them. I’m actually very excited about this one!

I want to get a real CPT job. A lot of times my insecurities hold me back from even trying, but I’m not going to let that stop me this year.

I want to nag less. Yes!…I’m a husband nagger! Guilty. I own it, but in my defense I’m not as bad as some, so it could always be worse!

I want to go grain-free. I’ve slowly started eliminating here and there, but this one is very hard for me. I imagine this will be a slow process that won’t be achieved by spring time, and I am OK with that. Slow and steady.

And, of course, I have to have a totally vein goal! I want a defined six pack! I do, I do, I do! I love my body, I love the strength it has and I want to see where I can take it!

“Another fresh new year is here . . .
Another year to live!
To banish worry, doubt, and fear,
To love and laugh and give!

This bright new year is given me
To live each day with zest . . .
To daily grow and try to be
My highest and my best!

I have the opportunity
Once more to right some wrongs,
To pray for peace, to plant a tree, And sing more joyful songs!”

-William Arthur Ward

Make it a great year, challenge yourself, love yourself.

namaste.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2012 4:33 pm

    I love your goals! and your explaniation on why you’re making these goals for yourself, love the way you phrased that! Good luck

Trackbacks

  1. Fit Life Friday: Revisiting NY’s Goals. « Nourish. Nature. Love.

Leave a Reply

