Skip to content

Happily Ever After

January 3, 2012

…After five years of marriage.

Yesterday Jordan and I celebrated five years of being husband and wife. The years have flown by- it honestly doesn’t feel like it’s been that long. I’m guessing all of the deployments have something to do with that.

In five years the both of has changed so much, which is to be expected when you get married at a young age, so naturally we’ve had our own challenges changing and adapting together. I knew this and expected this. Life is constantly changing, which means we are constantly changing and adapting. We’ve spent more time apart that we have together-which, surprisingly, has it’s ups…but only if  you want to see them. Since 2007, we’ve spent 27 months together, the remaining 30+ months have been spent away from eachother due to deployments. (And let’s not even go back to ’04 when we started dating and he joined the USMC!). Being away from your spouse for  long periods of time can either make or break the relationship(which I am so thankful we had a few deployments together before actually getting married!), it has made ours. Our love has grown SO much, we’ve matured so much-individually and as husband and wife.

My husband inspires me daily to be a better version of myself. He’s always challenging me to think a different way, to look at situations through a different perspective-one that is not natural to me. And I do the same for him… I challenge him to be a bit softer, in all areas. He and I are different people- with different ideas, different ways of showing love, different emotions. I know that same attracts same in the universal sense, but I can’t help but to believe that opposites really do attract. Our core values are the same, but surface level-not so much. I don’t need him to like and enjoy everything I like and enjoy. He doesn’t need me to like and enjoy everything he likes and enjoys. We are two separate people, who bring 100% of ourselves into the relationship to create one awesome team!

Our love is comfortable and broken-in. I cannot wait to reach the point where we’ve been together longer than we haven’t.  I can’t wait to grow old together and look back at our wedding day, as I do even now,  and know that was when we loved eachother the least…to know that our love for eachother has only grown since then.

Love is:

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails

We went on a fancy dinner date last night.

namaste.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 11:06 am

    LOVE the photos!! So cute. Congrats on FIVE YEARS, that’s wonderful!! What a lovely post, very happy for y’all!

  2. January 3, 2012 11:31 am

    Love your positive view on your marriage! When (or if!) I get married I hope I have the same positive energy as you. How different is it now that you are married and no longer just “boyfriend and girlfriend”? Does it change a lot?

    • January 3, 2012 5:42 pm

      Thank you! I’m a glass half full kind of gal, it makes life so much more enjoyable! For us, it changed significantly-we didn’t live together until we got married and living with someone definitely brings in a whole new set of factors. It wasn’t an instant change, it’s taken time, just like looking back now at when we got married so much has changed since then, it’s gradual…and FUN! My husband and I have a pretty traditional/old school marriage, which is something we both agree on, but settling into those roles were, and still are, challenging. Respect and love go a long ways ♥

Leave a Reply

