Skip to content

January Juice-up!

January 3, 2012

Today we’re starting a three day(maybe more) juice AND smoothie detox. I do this every January just to give my body a break and a new start. Juice- I use my juicer and all of the pulp is removed. Smoothies- I use my blender and the pulp remains. There are pros and cons to both so I use both! The juice is easier for the body to absorb the nutrients, since there isn’t any “substance” to break down. The smoothies are still easy for the body to break down, but there is still some internal work that has to be done to break down the pulp–but with this there aren’t as many feelings of “hunger”, I feel better working out with smoothies rather than just juice and well, right now it’s cheaper to smoothie-fy than juice– it takes a good amount of produce to get a glass of juice. So, our big meals: B, L, D will be smoothies and snacks will be juice. With this comes a lot of water guzzling to help flush out to toxins and  nasties that have built up. It is SO important to juice and blend vegetables, do not do just fruit juice!

This morning Jordan and I had this:

ingredients:

banana, kale, broccoli, carrots, peaches, straberries, flax seed and water.

I’m going to try to update as I go!

Day 1 Lunch:

ingredients: spinach, carrot, apple, pear, water.

Day 1 Dinner:

I totally forgot to take a picture, but I had a simple banana, spinach, carrot smoothie.

Day 2 Breakfast:

ingredients: banana, spinach, cucumber, blueberries, flax, water.

Day 2 Lunch:

I had made too much of my breakfast smoothie so I saved it for Lunch.

Day 2 Dinner:

Frozen banana, strawberry, rice protein, water.

Day 3 Breakfast:

ingredients: frozen banana, grannysmith apple, cucumber, ginger, spinach, flax, water.

Day 3 Lunch:

Same as breakfast.

Day 3 Dinner:

kale, carrot, ginger, banana, apple, water.

Turns out I was pretty horrible at updating this journey. I would get so busy during the day, and then at night after work I was so tired and fatigued that I just didn’t even want to bother–all I wanted was my juice, a hot shower and my cozy bed.

Doing a detox/cleans/fast your body goes through a little bit of a shock. You’re eating less that your body is used to, so with that come some hunger pangs, lack of energy and sometimes just a general feeling of sickness.

My goal in this, as always, was not to lose weight, but to give my body, my digestive system, a needed break. I did however lose 2lbs in 3 days, but I know those two pound will return in the coming days. I felt great during the daytime, I made sure to juice plenty of fruits and veggies that boost energy levels(leafy greens, banana) as I was still working out and working. I felt fine during the days, but come night time, after work, I was pooped- and two out of three nights accompanied by a headache, my fault for not drinking as much water as I knew I should have.  So overall, I felt…ok, but it was necessary.

Today is the morning after my third day and, let me tell ya’, I couldn’t have been more excited to wake up this morning to my cup o’ joe!

excuse my puffy, swollen eyeballs--i just woke up, give me a break.

Oh, how I missed my morning coffee! I’m no caffeine/coffee addict, I only have one cup(most of the time not even finishing it completely), it’s just such a treat in the mornings, which is my favorite part of the day–so they just go great together!

I’m glad I did it and I’m glad it’s over!

namaste

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 11:07 am

    Good job, enjoy your cleanse!

    I think that’s rad that J is doing it with you, good for you guys!

    • January 3, 2012 5:36 pm

      haha, he wasn’t too hesitant about doing it…until dinner time, right now. he wants real food so badly! haha.

Leave a Reply

