Skip to content

cucumbers and ginger root.

January 21, 2012

I’m kind of obsessed with these two items lately. They’re my two favorite ingredients in juicing/blending! They give off such a light, refreshing and energizing taste!

You think cucumbers offer little nutrition, because they’re mostly water? Think again!

These green bad boys offer some great health benefits! Yes, they have a high water content(~95%), but the skin has lots of Vit A- so don’t peel that stuff off, enjoy it. They also offer Vit C, folate, manganese, potassium, Vit B complex, they’re a good source of silica-which helps build the connective tissue in our bodies, they help regulate our body’s blood pH and the list goes on!

What about that brown, weird, knobby thing? Ginger-root! If you’re a newbie to ginger, it may be an acquired taste, it’s got a distinct flavor. But once you start experimenting with it I’m sure you’ll find it adds a unique element to your diet and taste buds.

Ginger is high in Vit B complex, potassium, copper, magnesium.  It’s also a natural anti-inflammatory, painkiller, anti-bacterial, and aids in reducing nausea.

I’m currently sipping on some cucumber, spinach, ginger, apple juice…so refreshing!

Do you incorporate these items into your diet?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2012 1:27 pm

    I totally agree; cucumbers have so many beneficial aspects to them. There is definitely more than just water in them. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  2. January 21, 2012 3:47 pm

    I will give this a try. Recently, I made a great juice with spinach and pineapples…yummy!
    I really need to add ginger to my diet and this will be a great start.
    Thanks! I look forward to more posts 🙂

  3. January 21, 2012 8:09 pm

    love ginger root! I always have to remind myself to use it and store in the fridge or else it goes bad quickly on me which just makes me sad haha

  4. January 21, 2012 8:10 pm

    ginger root is a big part of the diet here in Hawaii. Very good for upset stomach also.

    • January 21, 2012 9:46 pm

      yes, I give Hawaii the credit for getting me hooked on ginger! I never really experimented with it much before moving here, but now i use it quite a bit!

  5. January 23, 2012 1:59 pm

    Int to note re: cucumber peel! i usually peel it off because i worry about it absorbing baddies like pesticides if it’s not organic. Might have to rethink. I lurrrve ginger too! Can’t beat fresh ginger lemon honey tea, but i also came across a unique ginger idea on a juice fast recently, with apples, lemon, yellow pepper/capsicum and ginger in it. soo yum! espec with cinnamon sprinkled on top. x

Leave a Reply

