Skip to content

Use it, don’t waste it!

January 25, 2012

We’re getting ready to move in roughly 3-4 weeks, and this is a big move…not just to a new place in the same town, so I can’t pack up all of my groceries and dry goods and just take them with me. I either have to use them, or throw them away(but hey, I would never do that!..I’d give away what I can’t use). Over the past two weeks I’ve been trying to incorporate a lot of my dry-goods that I’ve had stored in my pantry. A lot of items have been in there quite some time and I want to make sure everything gets used before we move. This means I’m going to have to sacrifice some(ok, a lot) of my personal dietary habits in order to use everything. But I’m ok with that. It’s kind of a fun challenge!–seeing what interesting meals I can come up with using only the ingredients I have on hand! Making sure to be resourceful and not wasteful.

So, let’s take a look inside(my pantry!)

Alright. This shouldn’t be too hard. I’ve got a lot of whole wheat pasta, brown rice and some quinoa. Oats, nuts, canned tomatoes/sauce, beans, chicken broth and marinades,  canned pineapple, ramen, crackers, granola, icky peanut butter, lots of baking supplies(which I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to use all of, so I will be giving it away),  lots of tea and raisins.

This will be fun! I know I’ll have to pick up some dry ingredients here and there, but I’m really going to try hard to make this work! I’ll update as I come up with meals!

namaste.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

