Skip to content

A Day In the Life of ME!

February 2, 2012

I’ve been asked to make a post about my normal, day to day life. What I eat, what I do for a workout, etc. Nourish. Nature. Love.

So imma gonna try to break it down for ya.

A day in my life: 2/2/12

Morning:

The first thing I do when I get out of bed (besides pee) is drink a glass of water. really.

 

Why? Well, because after 8 hours of sleep my body is dehydrated and I want to help move along and flush out everything that’s been sitting and “asleep”. I stick with room temp or hot water because I don’t want to lower my internal body temperature.

Somewhere in between the water and starting my coffee I take five deep breaths–in through the nose, out through the nose. My body has been shallow breathing all night, so I like to get some new oxygen in there and really wake up my nose, throat, lungs diaphragm and stomach.

Breakfast

Is usually a green smoothie- like today’s!

^ the above is half of a banana, big handful of spinach, half of a granny-smith apple, 5 cucumber slices, 1 tsp grated ginger, 1 tbl ground flax seed, ice and 1/2 cup of water. I love this smoothie so much. It’s so light, fresh and energizing! Pay no attention to the rice protein in the background…it was not used; although, it was used later on in the day 🙂

My Workout

Today I did a full body circuit involving so many weighted squats, KB pushups to side planks, dips, KB press, exercise ball hammie roll outs, TRX single-leg squats and oblique twisters, and so much more…it just went on and on and on. I was a sweaty beast afterwards, fo’ reals.

^me, in my gym attire, doing gym time things.

Post gym/Lunch-

After I get home from a strength sesh I make(and inhale) a protein smoothie. You’ve got a 30 minute window post workout where your body is in optimal place to restore energy stores, recover and rebuild muscle tissue.

^protein smoothie today consisted of: ice, half of a banana, 1tbl almond butter, big scoop of chocolate rice protein( I don’t do dairy or soy), 1/2 c plain almond milk, 1/4 c water. It’s so good I usually want two.

lunch today consisted of green bell pepper slices, carrots and homemade hummus. 1 egg scrambled with steamed broccoli and hot sauce–I have some pretty weird concoctions, that being one of them, but I love it so much. It fills me up and fuels me up!

My Afternoon-

Like every other afternoon was spent with little kids: moving, laughing, flipping and skipping. I teach gymnastics, which is great because it keeps me moving and active…i love that!

Dinner-

I was in a hurry to make dinner…I was SO hungry when I got home from work, so I wanted something quick. “Quick” in my house is not synonymous with “junk”. Quick meals can still be uber healthy. I made sauteed cabbage and chick peas. A little bit of EVOO goes in the pan, with some minced garlic. Add the roughly chopped cabbage(I like a mix of purple and reg, but only had reg on me tonight), and chick peas, season with S&P to taste, cook until tender and then add a squeeze of fresh lemon.

^ this another one of  my weird concoctions. try it…it’s good! and quick.

Evening-

is spent relaxing! Seriously. It’s important. And I know not everyone has the time to do that with their schedules and what not, but finding some time to be calm and enjoy your space is so beneficial.

Bed time prayers are always said. I talk to God a lot through out my day, but bed time is when we have deep conversations. Whether you believe in the Christian God or not, I think it’s always a beautiful thing to thank the Universe for the blessings in your life. Really acknowledging the simple things we so often take for granted.

Regarding my food intake: I used to be a calorie counter. Not a strict one, but I definitely tracked the things I consumed and burned. I found that when I stopped caring so much, so did my body….it was like instant weight lifted off of me, physically and mentally. The harder I tried to count calories, the more defiant my body became it seemed. I no longer count. I eat healthy, I work out and I know my body will do the rest. (Calorie counting definitely has it’s place, believe me. It is an absolute must in some situations, but for me…I’m done with it).

Hope this little blurp into my holistic life has been somewhat helpful, or intersting? or offered something positive to you. maybe? yeah. I hope so.

with that…good night and…

namaste.

(I honor the place in you in which the entire universe dwells. I honor the place in you which is of love, of truth, of light and of peace. When you are in that place in you and I am in the place in me, we are one).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 8:51 pm

    cute post! christina did one of these once too, i think i should do one. but i want to pick a really wacky day, like run 20 errands kinda day (haha).

    i think next time you should do more details! what songs were on in the car? etc.

    cute pics! and i like your concoctions, they sound good to me.

    • February 2, 2012 9:05 pm

      hahaha, i wanted to keep it simple. a friend asked me to post about a normal day (health, fitness, nutrition wise). my life is way boring for all the mundane little details…you, on the other hand, should do it! the wacky, random day in the life of HHR!

  2. February 2, 2012 10:02 pm

    Great post today. I enjoy reading it very much today. You have a wonderful blog here. Thanks for sharing.

    Enjoy writing? We would love for you to join us.

    Writers Wanted

Leave a Reply

