Skip to content

The Things I Do For My Husband: explained

February 17, 2012

I feel the need to explain my previous post.

I had just come in from my run with Jordan and the amount of hate and dissatisfaction I was feeling was pretty intense, hence the bitter and cold-hearted post.

Yesterday it was suggested to me, by my wonderful husband, that we start running together. *insert unamused face here* He knows  how much I loathe the activity, but he also knows how much I love spending time with him being active- walks, tennis, hikes, pretty much anything besides running. This suggestion put me in quite the dilemma. Here Jordan is, trying to be nice by coming up with a physical activity for us to do together, couple time (get your mind out of the gutter!). But it’s an activity I never ever wish to participate in. What to do, what to do?

Well, needless to say, I sucked it up and went running with him. It’s now a daily activity we plan on doing together. Sometimes being selfless really sucks.

I wish I didn’t hate running so much. It’d make our new activity much more enjoyable. It’s just that I get zero satisfaction out of running. None. I don’t feel accomplished or good or empowered or anything. I just feel unamused, and I don’t want my workouts to feel that way-so I simply just don’t use running(besides sprints) as a form of exercise.

I’ll take what I can get, though. Sacrificing my likes and dislikes for Jordan and Carmela time will pay off…I hope.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. laiusky85 permalink
    February 19, 2012 7:58 am

    I think it’s great that you’re willing to do something you REALLY don’t like just to spend time with your husband. I’m sure he does that too in some other activity. It takes real love to commit like that. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

